• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

discipline referral question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

washst7

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Washington

I am a teacher. Recently one of my students was gone to the restroom with permission (hall pass) and became insubordinate toward another teacher. I was informed of this and was told by that teacher that it is my responsibility to write a discipline referral because she is my student. I don't feel comfortable with that, as I did not witness the event and believe the referral is a legal document. Anything I write concerning that incident would be second hand and hearsay. Is my position tenable? Is he right?

LdiJ

I am a teacher. Recently one of my students was gone to the restroom with permission (hall pass) and became insubordinate toward another teacher. I was informed of this and was told by that teacher that it is my responsibility to write a discipline referral because she is my student. I don't feel comfortable with that, as I did not witness the event and believe the referral is a legal document. Anything I write concerning that incident would be second hand and hearsay. Is my position tenable? Is he right?
I certainly think so. You didn't witness anything.

I'mTheFather

This isn't a legal question unless you plan to lie on the discipline referral. Either the other teacher writes it firsthand, or you write it by stating that Mr. Teacher reported that John Doe was insubordinate.

:rolleyes:

washst7

follow up questions

Since a referral can be used as evidence in a court and it can also be challenged in court, doesn't it become a legal issue?