• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I Report This:

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dasaniaddict

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TN

Good Evening,

I am a high school teacher at a public school in TN. I have been having problems with a child in my class following proper class procedure. (Won't sit in his seat- cussing- tardiness, other petty but highly disruptive behaviors). I phoned his house today and spoke to the stepmother to inform her that her stepson is becoming more and more defiant. She tells me that she will inform his father but 'it will do not good anyways, as he will ground his son and then 2 days later they are in the garage smoking pot again.'

I have some questions: Should I file a report of this? Is this something that needs to be reported to child protective services? If I understood the stepmother correctly, the father is doing drugs with his 15 year old son. Thank you for any replies.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Just Blue

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TN

Good Evening,

I am a high school teacher at a public school in TN. I have been having problems with a child in my class following proper class procedure. (Won't sit in his seat- cussing- tardiness, other petty but highly disruptive behaviors). I phoned his house today and spoke to the stepmother to inform her that her stepson is becoming more and more defiant. She tells me that she will inform his father but 'it will do not good anyways, as he will ground his son and then 2 days later they are in the garage smoking pot again.'