• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

ed code 44466, 44929.21

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mssmythe

According to the above ed codes, if I worked as a teacher under a university intern contract for 1 1/2 years, obtained my preliminary credential the second year, and was re elected to teach the third year, should I have been considered tenured in the third year in California??What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Humusluvr

According to the above ed codes, if I worked as a teacher under a university intern contract for 1 1/2 years, obtained my preliminary credential the second year, and was re elected to teach the third year, should I have been considered tenured in the third year in California??What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
What did your contract state? Because most contracts do not begin until you are fully certified.

ecmst12

Anything that you were told verbally would be outweighed by what is actually written in the contract.

Humusluvr

I was fully credentialed / contracted the third year. I was verbally told the contract did not expire.
So, you have to tell us more details about what happened. Did they let you go without warning the third year? Did they RIF you (Reduction in Force - almost all schools are going through it right now)?

Contracts are usually year to year for new teachers, until you sign the contract that says you have tenure. Unless you signed the tenure contract, you don't have tenure. And they wouldn't have started your countdown to tenure until you were FULLY licensed - the end of your third year.

Mssmythe