• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Financial aid

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mareda

I was a student at Miami Dade College in 2007-2008. I received grant funds for financial aid to pay for classes. after speaking with a counselor I submitted my military smart transcript hoping it would provide me with enough credits for graduation. My smart transcripts provided me with more than enough credits however, shortly after I was notified by the college that I had been placed in the "SOAP" (Standards of Academic Progress) program for an over credit situation which caused my financial aid eligibility to be resented. The college demands that I refund around $1500.00. I have tried to fix the situation by speaking with several deans who all refer me to the financial aid director who hasn't answered any of my emails, phone calls and messages. Can I sue them?

Mass_Shyster

I was a student at Miami Dade College in 2007-2008. I received grant funds for financial aid to pay for classes. after speaking with a counselor I submitted my military smart transcript hoping it would provide me with enough credits for graduation. My smart transcripts provided me with more than enough credits however, shortly after I was notified by the college that I had been placed in the "SOAP" (Standards of Academic Progress) program for an over credit situation which caused my financial aid eligibility to be resented. The college demands that I refund around $1500.00. I have tried to fix the situation by speaking with several deans who all refer me to the financial aid director who hasn't answered any of my emails, phone calls and messages. Can I sue them?