• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Johns Hopkins School of Public Health- Scholarship, Misrepresentation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

abk00

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MD

I was recently admitted into JHSPH as a graduate student my Masters.

I came across a scholarship program, where it publicly advertises, that "all incoming/admitted new students matriculating into a Masters program in the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health are considered for the scholarship".

When I emailed the program, they said I was not eligible because of the department I was in. They told me: "scholarships are given to two departments each year: X1 and one other department which rotates each year. The department I am in, is not in the running this year.

This information about the department eligibility each year, is not disclosed on the website.

Furthermore, it seems previous winners were selected from up to 3 different departments, as opposed to the 2.

I feel this is misrepresentation, and discrimination, based on the field of study I chose.

When I contacted my department about this, they had no idea about the scholarship program, and they were never placed on the rotation, in the last eight years.

Do I have a case?

The stakes are high. Tuition fees for 1 year ~ 40,000k. This scholarship covers tuition for the duration of the program.

Thank you for your input!
ABK

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MD

I was recently admitted into JHSPH as a graduate student my Masters.