• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Paid Impersonation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

calteacher

Hi everyone, I'm a teacher at a private high school in California that primarily serves English language learners. My question concerns a former student who comes from a very wealthy (Chinese) background and who failed, through total lack of effort, just about every class in the two semesters he was enrolled at the school where I teach. Because he's over 18, he went ahead and enrolled at a California community college that doesn't require a high school diploma of its students. He's still friends with many of the students at my school and comes back and visits many of them on the weekends.

The rumor going around about this student -- and it's a rumor I find VERY believable -- is that he's paying someone to impersonate him at his community college. I don't mean just a test here and there; rather, the impersonator is taking all of my former student's classes in exchange for money, while my former student ends up getting the college credit. I've gone ahead and notified my dean about this rumor, and my dean has contacted the community college, and the c.c. administrator said they would investigate.