• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

PhD not being allowed to graduate, ADA violation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

myusername1234

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

I am a doctoral student. I have completed all the coursework required, with a GPA in excess of 3.9. I have passed my doctoral examinations, and have been planning to graduate this semester, as I am nearly finished with my dissertation.

I feel that I am being discriminated against on the basis of my depression. The university is taking punitive action against me, because an anonymous third-party has apparently stated that I am severely depressed. I have thus been informed that even though I should be able to graduate this semester, that I will not be allowed to do so unless I 'prove' to the university that I am not severely depressed, on their terms, according to whatever arbitrary definition they have. Obviously, this depresses me. I know it sounds absurd, and one would think that there is more to the story, but the only reason given to me is that I show symptoms of depression. I have asked for an explanation in writing, and the university has not given me anything, although they are not allowing me to register for my final semester.