• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Rights to a competent teacher???

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tsergent

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida
OK, I'm in my last semester of nursing school. The instructor this semester had an aneurysm in Nov of last year and has came back to teaching this semester. Actually I think she came back last semester after only being out one semester. Anyway, the problem is I question her ability to teach. From the very first class we could tell she had a problem remembering practically everything. She forgot discussions we'd had with her extensively from the previous day, she forgot tests at her other campus (she teaches two class at separate campuses), she lost tests which would delay us retaking them (a math test you have to score 80% on or you can't pass meds, they give you a few chances to pass it), and she continuously forgets that we went over certain topics from the previous week or previous day. I can see forgetting here and there but she forgets everything to the point where she will become very defensive toward us as students. This isn't the only problem with this teacher. From the first test until the third she gave last week, everyone in the class except three people has failed two of the tests. At least 75% failed the math test. The problem is that she does not want to give us anything to study by. She gives us hints as to what has been on previous tests but we found after test #1 that if you go by that, you will fail. She tells us things will be on a test that are not and the things she says will not be on the test are on it. We can't even go by the syllabus even though she says anything on there is "fa