• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

School field trip permission & release form - what does it mean?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mrcozza

Pennsylvania

My daughter's public school has a standard field trip permission and release form that contains legal jargon and references to Pennsylvania statutes by section number, but does not reproduce the relevant text of the statutes on the form. I am reluctant to sign the form because, frankly, I don't fully understand it. I am a professional engineer and have dealt with many legal documents and contracts, so I'm comfortable with them. However this one just seems to lack full definition. My dilemma is that I want my daughter to go on the trip, but I don't want to sign away her legal rights in case she sustains an injury while on the trip. I want her to have the same legal rights while on the trip as she has when at the school. Here is the paragraph in question: