• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

School requires classes for emphasis but does not offer them

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

OneBoredStudent

South Carolina:

I earned a bachelors degree in technology last May from a local school. After lengthy discussions with supervisors, professors, parents, friends and basically anyone else with an opinion, I determined that the best way to use my degree to its fullest potential was to supplement it with an MBA. I am currently pursuing an MBA at the same school

Because I am a technology professional, I chose to pursue an MBA with an emphasis in Management Information Systems.

For at least two semesters prior to my undergrad graduation, I heard rumors from professors that the MIS emphasis might be going away. With this in mind, I contacted the office of graduate studies to get a definitive answer and to determine whether or not I should find another school. The answer was that they had not made a final decision but that if it did go away AFTER I enrolled, the classes would still be available and, provided I completed those classes, I would still graduate with the emphasis. I enrolled with the emphasis.

I received an email from the program director in February listing the emphases that were being kept and MIS was one of them.

The emphasis requires 4 MIS electives and offers 6. For the sake of simplicity let's call them class 1, class 2, class 3, class 4, class 5 and class 6.