• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

School told Clearinghouse I graduated when I didn't

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

soulchild99

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania

I was enrolled in college the fall of 2009. Despite applying several times, I could not get out a loan to pay the rest of the balance, and was then forced to leave. I later found out through AES that the school put in the Clearinghouse system that I had graduated in the spring of that year. When I finally did graduate, I found out I lost my grace period, causing me to be late and hiked my payments/messed up my credit. When I tried to get a verification letter, I was told by the registrar's office that I was registered for classes, but I was not validated. But the financial aid office told me I was. Now, neither the dean nor anyone else there will answer my e-mails or calls. Along with the stuff listed, I almost had to leave a fellowship opportunity and a job last minute because of this.
I've tried to look at this from as many angles as possible to see if there was anything I could have done differently. I also want to make sure this doesn't happen to anyone else. Do I have a case here?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Last edited:

Ohiogal

Queen Bee