• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Sexual offender on our field trip!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Minnesota

I am a sixth grade teacher. Every year we take the students on a 3-day, 2-night field trip. We take one parent chaperone for every 12 students on the trip.

We recently found out that one of the parents who went with us this year is a level two sex offender. He also had chaperoned 2 years ago with a different group of students.

What would you recommend to avoid this happening again?

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

minnesotakent said:
Minnesota

I am a sixth grade teacher. Every year we take the students on a 3-day, 2-night field trip. We take one parent chaperone for every 12 students on the trip.

We recently found out that one of the parents who went with us this year is a level two sex offender. He also had chaperoned 2 years ago with a different group of students.

My response:

You seem to be having a lot of trouble with these so-called "field trips" of yours - - based upon this, and your past posts. Just give it up. Is it really worth it?

You could have the parents fill out a questionnaire, with one of the questions being, "Are you now, or have you ever been, a convicted sexual offender?"

Do you see the folly in that?

IAAL

HomeGuru

minnesotakent said:
Minnesota

**A: easy, cross this person off the school chaperone list and do not invite him to chaperone anymore.

You are right that these trips can be a lot of trouble.

The good news is that the students behaved extremely well this year.

We would like to keep doing this trip because it is a great experience for the students, but finding out that we had a sexual offender on the trip is pretty scary.