• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

tape-recording students

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

westvillagegirl

What is the name of your state?Texas
I am a middle school Spanish teacher. I have from time to time tape-recorded my students.

Last Thursday, a student entered my classroom during 7th period class and stole a micro-cassette from my desk. The entire class witnessed this incident. I speculate that the principal was involved in this. She knew I had tape-recorded her reprimanding me because I had my students write a get-well letter to a fellow co-worker. The principal had harrassed this teacher so severely that the teacher became ill with panic attacks and too scared to return to work.

Anyway, I reported the incident to her promptly. The next morning I was called into her office. Sitting in the office were the school counselor and the assistant principal. Also, to my surprise, she had invited one of my students and the student's father. This student was not involved in this incident and neither was the parent.

She proceeded to reprimand me severely in front of everyone in her office.
She said she had recovered the tape and that she would not return it to me. She then said, "You are hereby directed to hand over all of your tapes." I told her that I didn't have any other tapes. She then began to wave the micro-cassette tape around in the air for all to see. She then told me it was illegal to tape-record minors.

I replied to her that I was unaware that it was illegal. She told me the tape was her proof that I was breaking the law.