• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Title IX in college

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

willie_white

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

Hi, I'm an international undergraduate student in California under F1 Visa.
I'm currently pregnant and have a complication, that requires me to be on bed rest (I have doctor's note that states that).
My school doesn't offer leave of absence (LOA), with the exception for graduate pregnant students. Also according to its policy non-attendance for 35 consecutive days results in withdrawal, and since I'm an international student, I would have to leave the country immediately. They emailed my with this policy, and after I confronted them with Title IX, they said that LOA is only offered to graduate student, but after research, they have "good news" for me. I can request to be withdrawn from this semester (get W in my classes) and still legally stay in the country according to: 8 C.F.R. � 214.2(f)(6)(iii)(B).

However, according to 34 C.F.R. �106.40 (b)(5):

"In the case of a recipient which does not maintain a leave policy for its students, or in the case of a student who does not otherwise qualify for leave under such a policy, a recipient shall treat pregnancy, childbirth, false pregnancy, termination of pregnancy and recovery therefrom as a justification for a leave of absence for so long a period of time as is deemed medically necessary by the student's physician, at the conclusion of which the student shall be reinstated to the status which she held when the leave began."