• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is the University Obligated to Allow Program Completion

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JenniSam

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MI

I am currently a graduate student in a teaching program at a university in Michigan. 6 years ago I began my master's degree and was told I have 7 years to complete the program. I have completed half of the program and will be complete with the program if I attend full time this Fall (12 credits) and then take 6 credits this winter... or so I thought.

I recently learned that my program was cancelled and there are no available programs that will accommodate all 18 credits I have earned so far. I have great GPA and most importantly paid a lot of money for the classes. I am told I will lose 6 credits taking me well under half way there and I must still meet all credit requirement of the new program that is closest to the old program. I agree that I should meet the requirements of the new program in order to obtain a degree in that program. However, I should be compensated for the 6 additional credit hours I now lose.

The university's position is that they notified students 3 years ago that the program was being phased out and they have a little more than a year to finish the program. I never received this letter but my position is even it I had, do they not have a contractual obligation to allow those already enrolled, the full 7 years that was promised? Every document I have including an email today from the dean acknowledges the 7 year time frame but he says he wasn't the dean at the time so cannot address how students were notified.