• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What legal recourse can I take if my school district lost my high school transcripts?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

morales21

I graduated in 1998 and recently tried to apply for college after 8 years in the military. I contacted my school district and after 2 months they said they couldn't find my records and there was nothing more for them to do. I even called the district Superintendents office and the CA State Board of Education but they weren't able to help me. The college I'm applying to requires transcripts for admission. I was going to use the post 911 GI Bill to pay for my school.

xylene

Consider talking to the college again and show them the evidence that your transcript is not available.

Also, that sounds a bit hinckey - you are like nearly 30 and a veteran. Your high school transcripts are not that big a part of things. Do you have SAT and ACT scores. Are they above the schools standards?

morales21

It's a private college (Mercy College in NY) and I have talked to the admissions counselors a few different times about my situation and they have told me that an official high school transcript is required.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
OP isn't saying they don't acknowledge his attendance...

OP - what does the district say their normal policy is on records retention?

TinkerBelleLuvr

OP isn't saying they don't acknowledge his attendance...

OP - what does the district say their normal policy is on records retention?
I contacted my school district and after 2 months they said they couldn't find my records and there was nothing more for them to do.