• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Guardianship vs. Conservatorship

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Anne Robertson

I am new to this and a bit confused - have patience with me. I would like to know if there is some way of blocking a parent from changing power of attorneys without having her declared incompetent. She is understands well enough who has her best interests when you are talking to her, but forgets quickly when the evil one plays her for control. She lives in New Jersey. Also, what is conservatorship?

seniorjudge

Q: I would like to know if there is some way of blocking a parent from changing power of attorneys without having her declared incompetent.

A: None that I know of.

seniorjudge

Definitions of guardianship on the Web:

* care: attention and management implying responsibility for safety; "he is in the care of a bodyguard"
* the responsibility of a guardian or keeper; "he left his car in my keeping"
wordnet.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

* The office or position of one acting as a guardian or conservator, especially in a legal capacity
en.wiktionary.org/wiki/guardianship

* The legal responsibility for the care of a minor child.
andreasenwealthmanagement.com/Glossary.htm

* A legal appointment granting an individual the legal right to do business for a member or minor (similar to a power of attorney). ...
Glossary of Terms

* A legal process in which an adult is appointed by the court to make decisions about another person’s residence, health and general care and well being. The Court must determine that the protected person is legally incapacitated. ...
Glossary Oregon Technical Assistance Corporation