• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Medi-cal (Medicaid) Asset Lien Process; Nursing Home

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

CrystalV

What is the name of your state? California

My grandfather is in the advanced stages of Alzheimer's. My grandmother his caregiver, recently (suddenly) passed away. They own a mobile home; accessed value is approx. $40k, could probably sell for $100-125k (I work in the real estate industry).
After my grandmother’s passing, we had to place my grandfather in a nursing home. He’s currently receiving minimal Medicare benefits; we’re in the process of enrolling him in Medi-cal (at the direction of the facility). At the advice of this post, we did not transfer or gift the property and listed all assets on the Medi-cal applications. The mobile home and an old vehicle are his only assets he has. We’ve received a letter from Medi-cal requesting the registration the car and mobile home.
My question is, can someone please explain to me the Medi-cal recovery process for his stay in the nursing home? He’s currently in the nursing home under a 45-day VA granted stay; after which either Medi-cal or us have to pick up the tab (the latter, is not an option).
How does Medi-cal recover their money? Is the home signed over to Medi-cal (i.e. Grant Deed), or do they place a lien against the property? If they place liens against the property, is it based on the assessed value or the value that it might be sold for?
We’ve consulted an elderly-law attorney, but weren’t offered any suggestions or advice.
Any suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated.

BlondiePB