• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What type of contract or document is needed to have security?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

peggybean

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NC
I live in NC. I am a widow of a veteran and receive many benefits; this is why I choose not to get married. I have dated the same man for over 13 years now. We both own our own homes and have our own properties. There is nothing we own together. This man is almost 30 years my senior and has 3 children that also live in NC. We realize the chances are that he will pass or need a care giver before me. He is healthy and capable of taking care of all of his affairs at this time in his life. Our problem is the few times he has ended up in the hospital his children make it not only difficult but VERY uncomfortable for me to visit, see and take care of him. We have discussed our options, but we are researching our legal options. There must be contracts or POA’s that would give me rights that they would NOT be able to fight. That would allow me to help with his care even though I am not next of kin. I am looking for rights that allow doctors to inter act with me on decision making. And something that could stop the children from harassing me should (which it will) it happen. I need to know where to start looking and what type of documents that will legally hold up in the state of NC. He has offered to put me in his will leaving me 25%. This is considerate of him, but I am most concern that if he needs my help I am able to give it. God forbid he were not able to make his own decisions at this point these children would not let me even near him. What can we do to give me security in our fu