• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

LLC and Liabilty

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jeff247

What is the name of your state? NY

Will an LLC protect me personally if contaminates (origin unknown) are found on my business property and I am ordered to clean upThank you.

Buzz123

I am not a lawyer; I am an environmental engineer with 20+ yrs of experience with the clean up of contaminated sites. So I am comfortable speaking to what I am seeing actually happen with these sites, but not to the underlying legal principals.

As to the protection an LLC offers to you personally, that is a lawyer question. I have seen this fail to protect for several reasons.

I can tell you that under Superfund you can but probably won't be held liable by EPA for clean up, if the contamination is clearly not coming from and could not reasonably have come from any operations on your site. There are some old horror stories, cases in which EPA pursued and ruined truly innocent landowners in the 80’s and 90’s, but less so today. I am less familiar with how NY DEC would handle this.