• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Child Support

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

lawrence

My ex-girlfriend moved to Delaware in 1997 with our daughter, now 5. When I fell behind in Child Support payments last year, she filed for wage assignment which I'm waiting on.
She makes 26,500 a year, and is remarried and has had another child.
I am a contractor, making $50 an hour,no benefits, based on a 40 hour week in California (approx $100,000 a year).
Question: Can I expect to pay about 25% of my take home pay, which would pay her $1200 a month? I know that one's 'station in life' is considered in the guidelines, but I would essentially be paying her mortgage and utilities, car payment, and food for her entire family - would this be a reasonable expectation from the court? Seems pretty excessive...

Thanks!

L

lillian

Larry, 100k a year and you've been denying your child basic support. That is shameful. $1200 a month gets your child out of poverty. (I don't know that its actual "poverty", but 26/yr with 2 kids doesn't sound good) It sounds like you are so afraid that mom or this other kid might benifit from your kid's support money that you would rather see your child go without your support. Don't you know that the better off your child's living environment is, the better off he is? I know a lot of dads get to pay less, but you are supposed to want to give your child all you can so I think its sad that you find the prospect of improving your child's situation that disturbing.

L

lawrence