• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Complicated divorce: American abroad

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

B

BetrayedM

I just talked to an online legal here about my proposed divorce and child custody matter. Apparently my case was so unusual that he had no advice other than that I should post the matter here. I hope one of you can help. Email me at [email protected] please.

I have an unusual situation. I am an American Citizen, but live in Chile as a College professor and have done so for over 4 years. I am a permanent resident of Chile (akin to having a green card). My wife is under the same residency situation.

We have 6 kids, ages 4 to 12 who live with us. We were married in Michigan 16+ years ago
My wife has been committing adultery with many (at least 5 men and one woman) over the last few years (or maybe longer). I have emails and other evidence of this fact. I, on the other hand, have been faithful. So I want a divorce for cause. I just cannot take it any more.

I also want the kids, and the older ones have said that they would want to go with me. They have seen mom getting naked (or close to it) in front of the PC camera and write sexy notes to boyfriends who were just seen by them as big penises on the screen. They are not pleasaed with my wife either to say the least.

My wife does not know that I know about her affairs or that I am planning to divorce her yet.

Now here are the problems: (1) Divorce is illegal in Chile, (2) we are not residents of a USA state, even though I am willing to move back to become one to make the divorce work, and (3) I may have a job change to Guatemala soon.