• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Spousal Support Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

MaryL

I am going through a divorce in California. My ex has recently quit his job so that he will not be required to pay spousal support or any medical benifits. What if any options do I have to try to collect, can I wait till he gets another job months from now, or can the court order him to still provide medical for me? He is divorcing me, yet I am paying for the divorce, this is hard, because I am a student, who supported him while he got his career going, now that it's my turn to start an education, I have no support.
HELP!

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by MaryL:
I am going through a divorce in California. My ex has recently quit his job so that he will not be required to pay spousal support or any medical benifits. What if any options do I have to try to collect, can I wait till he gets another job months from now, or can the court order him to still provide medical for me? He is divorcing me, yet I am paying for the divorce, this is hard, because I am a student, who supported him while he got his career going, now that it's my turn to start an education, I have no support.
HELP!
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

My response:

It makes no difference that he has quit his job "so that he will not be required to pay spousal support or any medical benifits."