• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Termination of Parental Rights

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

MRaddatz

I have been working with children for about 10 years. I volunteer at a camp for children that are burn survivors. About 17 months ago, I adopted an 13 year old boy from the camp. Following the adoption he changed personality completely, and has turned into a budding criminal. He has assaulted his mother (my ex-wife) twice (broken ribs and punctured lung the last time) stolen and totaled our car. He has taken credit cards and money, cut school repeatedly, and continues to abuse alcohol and drugs. I recently discovered some involvement with gang activity. Needless to say counseling, mentors, AA, NA, ect.. has not helped, and I am reaching wits end. He is currently in custody and is heading for a long term stay at group home

I have been raising him, and my other adopted children, as a single father, but this is too much. To protect myself, and my family, from litigation resulting from his actions, I am considering, a termination of parental rights, and/or a disruption of the adoption.

What are my rights and responsibilities in this case?

What are the steps that I should be taking now, and in the future to protect my family from litigation?

Thanks

MikeR

LegalBeagle

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE said:
usdeeper said:
I AM ALWAYS LIABLE said:
My response:

Just how serious are you about getting rid of this kid?

IAAL
Que the Mexico solution ..
My response:

Well, this time I was thinking of Bolivia.

IAAL