• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

WHAT am I entitled to IF it comes down to DIVORCE?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

B

betrayedone

Hello, this is my first time ever to this site and board and I hope I do this right. I'm in a marriage of 2.5 years and I deeply love my husband, more than ANYthing on this earth and our relationship had been beautiful until August 4h, 2000 when I caught him in a lie and confronted him....he refused to talk to me about it and still does. Things have changed between us though I still love him with all my heart, he isn't as sweet and loving, though he's nice to me mostly, just gets nasty and hateful from time to time and refuses to talk ONE bit about the lie I caught him in. When talking with close friends, they advise me to leave him, he doesn't deserve me. That's easier said than done because a) I have NOT worked since I moved from my hometown and married him (that's been 3 years) and b) I have NO money to even get an attorney to ask the questions I NEED answered before I seek a divorce, if it comes to that. My question is this....WHAT am I entitled to, IF we go the way of divorce, even though I've not worked and the house we are in was built before we met (though BOTH of our names are now on the mortgage). He also has a hefty sum in a 401 (k) that he has always refered to as OUR money and he makes good money. IF I were to divorce him tomorrow, I'd be penniless and homeless, but IF this bad treatment of me BY HIM continues I guess I have no choice. However, I wanted to know if ANYbody knew what I'd be fairly entitled to if it came to divorce? COULD he be forced to put the house up for sale and split that proceed with me, COULD he be f