• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

401k Hardship Withdrawal (college)?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

travis304

Hi folks,

New member here, and having difficulty finding answers to my questions. Long story made short: I'm in my final year of college, recently separated from my wife, with no savings (that she depleted on frivolous purchases shortly after declaring her intentions to separate), and mounting expenses that could become catastrophic as well as ruin my stability and ability to work. I'm debating submitting an e-certified proof of hardship using my college tuition to receive what little I have in my 401k, to help pay my tuition next term. This is because I will then receive a larger refund for my excess student loan amount, which will be paramount to helping me through a myriad of medical / vehicular / legal expenses. Before you begin the "lecture" on hardship withdrawals: I'm 24 years old, currently in the Armed Forces, trying to graduate university, am about to experience the disaster and expense of divorce, with an 18-month old daughter who gets to suffer and who I am trying to support now on my income alone - also throw in some likely expensive vehicle repairs and other expenses, and you can easily see my need for some emergency funding. I fully understand how penalizing and negative a hardship withdrawal is. I don't care how old and wise you are. I don't need to hear it from you. Let's leave it at that. My questions are:

1. What documentation do I / might I need to show, stating that I actually used my hardship withdrawal to pay my tuition, after I receive my withdrawal? I've found plenty of information for other withdrawal types - but not this.