• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can an employeer force you to take classes?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mem811

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

I have been with this company for almost two years. The reason they hired me was because of my MS Office skills which are above the basics. I have a diploma in computer applications. So I am more advanced; the only one in my group. Everyone in the company comes to me with thier problems. Now they are forcing me to take the classes because they hired someone to come in and teach the class and they need so many people. I find this to be unfair that I already educated my self and because the others in my group did not I am being FORCED to take these classes all over again.

Any help is appreciated!

ecmst12

If your employer tells you to take the class, then you take the class, or prepare to find other employment. Your employer can tell you to do ANYTHING as long as it's not against the law.

Now if you are non-exempt, they have to PAY you for the time spent in the class just as if it was any other work time. But if they tell you to go to the clas, and act like you're paying attention, then you have to do it!

>Charlotte<

Lurker
If your employer wants you to take the class, you take the class. If you refuse, they can fire you unless you have a contract that specifically states otherwise.

In the interest of furthering your presumed reputation of being someone they want to continue to employ, it would be wise to not give them the impression that they have to "force" you to do this.

cyjeff

First, I learn SOMETHING in every class I take.