• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Company offers insurance to some employee's families, but not all

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Bobafettacheese

I work at a small company, under 50 employees, there is no HR department. The owner of the company is the commander-in-chief and controls wages, benefits, bonuses, etc. We also have a sister company that he semi-controls.

I have been working at this company for 8 years and have been full-time the entire time.

As a full-time employee I get health insurance, it is paid in full by my employer. Now, certain employees are allowed to have their families added to the plans free of charge. I was not allowed to have my wife put on the insurance plan because she is working and was offered it through her employer (his reasoning). Yet, there are employees here with working wives (as well as stay-at-home wives) that are on the plan. I was told that I would have to pay $5,000 a year in order to have my wife added. I ran into the same situation when I tried adding my son, I was told it would cost $5,000 a year and that I should look to "Obamacare" for plans.

I know for a fact that other employees have their entire family covered by the company, is this legal, can the owner of the company dish out benefits as he sees fit? Is it some form of discrimination, or his he just a turd?

LdiJ

I work at a small company, under 50 employees, there is no HR department. The owner of the company is the commander-in-chief and controls wages, benefits, bonuses, etc. We also have a sister company that he semi-controls.

I have been working at this company for 8 years and have been full-time the entire time.