• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Judgement Obtained by the EDD without Notice to Appear

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

CAEDDVictim

California

I'm a resident in the state of California. I had an overpayment from a previous year that has been subsequently paid off via unemployment deduction. I now have an outstanding balance of penalties an interest that equal nearly $1000. I have receive notices of judgement from the Superior Court, however, I was never delivered a notice to appear to have the opportunity to defend myself. How is this possible? Why am I not allowed due process?

Another issue is that I am unable to negotiate the fees to be lowered. Even the IRS works with you. How does the EDD have this much power and why is it impossible to fight them?

swalsh411

Why do you believe you should not have to pay those penalties and fees?

Have you contacted the court to ask how you were served?

commentator

It is unusual for the EDD to be totally unreasonable on negotiating with people who owe back-pay and penalties, IN THE BEGINNING. The fact that you have penalties in the first place would indicate that you were very slow in responding to them way back after the first overpayment notices were sent to you.