• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

No signed benefits contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mledezma

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

Hello there,

I'm a Pharmacist working in Marin county, CA. Approximately 3 years ago I took a new job working 20 hours per week, in a very small private Pharmacy. The owner hired me and when he offered me the job we negotiated the benefits package. At that time I was fully employed and happy with my job, but this presented a new area of Pharmacy so I was willing to leave my other job if he was able to at least give me the same benefits including vacation hours. He agreed and I started working. After I got hired, he was gone on business trips for most of the time and then suddenly he passed away (about 2 months after I had been hired). I just recently found out that he never actually had anything in writing, although I remember signing multiple papers I guess the benefits contract was not one of them.

The wife took over the company (she is not a Pharmacist) and has never giving me an evaluation or a raise in 3 years. When I asked for a raise recently, she said that she had to figure out all the finances and that she will give me an evaluation. At this point, she found out, how many vacation hours I was earning and was dismayed. I explained to her that this was the agreement I had with her husband and she told me that since there was nothing in writing that she would not honor that and would only give me what the employee manual states for a new employee.