• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployment Overpayment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cc8899

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

Hi, I have been filing for UI from 2010 to 2011 and September 26, 2011 I was hired and started working, but I was told by the Unemployment center staff to continue certified weekly until I pass the 3 month Probation Working Time. So I followed her instruction as every week I enter my wages to my UI certification screen for about 4 month, and I have print out the screen capture of those certifications. But now they have said that they have Overpaid my Benefits and ask me to pay back the full amount I owe, I am filing for appeal need some advise here. According to UI letter they said I knowingly claim that I was not employed, but I did put in the Wages and Hours worked for those week and also their record indicated that I started working one week early to my start date. I really need some advise here, also if I have ground for appeal what should I say in it. I have approved for the New UI Benefits, but that have stopped, I am guessing is going to pay down the overpayment, until they have fully recover from it. What should I do? I don't have much to lived on now, job search is adding more pressure on family income any advise will help.

Thanks!

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
I guess I'm missing something here...when you received those unexpected payments from the government, did you return the money? Did you put it in a savings account knowing it was likely a mistake?

eerelations

Yes I'm confused too - you reported your hours and wages and...what? They paid you anyway? Why didn't you report this?

davew128