• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

will a cashing out a pension at 24yrs old. affect my IL unemployment benefits??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jcmadrid

sorry im new to this forum. question is I've been collecting unemployment since october 2010. I have a employer funded pension that I cashed out earlier this year. Do I have to report that lump-sum early withdrawal to my unemployment office? I am 24 years old, and live in illinois. Ive been losing so much sleep over this.

jcmadrid

im sorry for posting duplicate threads, i sent that from my phone and somehow I messed up. Now it isn't considered income even though I'm getting taxed on it? Some websites say I have to report it and some don't. :/ Guess I'll call the local office just to be on the safe side, I sure hope you're correct.

commentator

No, since you are NOT receiving it as a monthly pension, since you of course are not eligible to draw it out this way at your age, this is not considered receiving a pension. This is drawing it out in a lump sum, which is NOT reportable income for unemployment purposes. Unemployment beneifts are not based on your income. You could come into any amount of income, find a bag of cash, inherit big, win the lottery, and still qualify for unemployment benefits. Whether it is taxable is not the deciding factor, it is whether it is actual work for wages or a pension that you began receiving in a monthly increment based on your age and eligibility to receive it. Social security retirement benefits are not a pension, incidentally, not important to you, but might be important for another questioner to know.