• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I have any level of grandparent rights?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lala2008

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California
I have been raising my grandson since birth he is now 3 years old. Father in and out of prison and has never supported him nor raised him. My daughter lived with me but was absent as a Mother nor did she help in any which way. After three years, Father gets out of prison and now they decide to move out and take him from me. Why don't we have laws for Grandparents? I don't see how there is any good in ripping him away from all he knows and his home, stability and feeling safe. I am in such torment and depression from all of this I can't imagine what my grandson is thinking and feeling.... What can I do if anything????What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Proserpina

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California
I have been raising my grandson since birth he is now 3 years old. Father in and out of prison and has never supported him nor raised him. My daughter lived with me but was absent as a Mother nor did she help in any which way. After three years, Father gets out of prison and now they decide to move out and take him from me. Why don't we have laws for Grandparents? I don't see how there is any good in ripping him away from all he knows and his home, stability and feeling safe. I am in such torment and depression from all of this I can't imagine what my grandson is thinking and feeling.... What can I do if anything????What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

You'll basically have to convince the court that seeing your grandson is in HIS best interest.