• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Any drawback to dropping primary insurance coverage?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Filius

I live in California and have Anthem insurance through my employer. My wife has Kaiser through her employer. Since she has a family plan covering our two kids as well, I am automatically included in her plan.

I had been using Kaiser doctors and facilities for the past several years, not knowing that I should have been using my own Anthem-approved doctors since that is my primary plan. I like Kaiser because the co-payments are lower and there is less billing hassle since all their services are self-contained.

I was recently diagnosed with a heart condition and need to decide quickly whether I will utilize a Kaiser PCP or an Anthem one for future tests and treatment. At this point I see very little downside to giving up the double coverage and sticking with Kaiser alone, and am thinking of telling my boss to cancel my Anthem coverage immediately.

Is there a downside to to this plan that I'm not thinking of?

I would appreciate any info. Thanks.

Ladyback1

I live in California and have Anthem insurance through my employer. My wife has Kaiser through her employer. Since she has a family plan covering our two kids as well, I am automatically included in her plan.

I had been using Kaiser doctors and facilities for the past several years, not knowing that I should have been using my own Anthem-approved doctors since that is my primary plan. I like Kaiser because the co-payments are lower and there is less billing hassle since all their services are self-contained.