• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Claim denied for pre-existing condition

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tayb

I am in the state of Texas.

I was unemployed from August 2010 to November 2010 and did not have insurance during that time. On February 11 2011 my new and current insurance with United Health Care kicked in and is still active.

In the middle of August 2011 I went to see a doctor for minor hand tremors. I am a computer engineer and I type almost all day at work. He told me it was probably just nothing but he would do a blood test just to be 100% safe. He prescribed me with nothing. A week later the test results came back and they were negative. He told me to just stretch my hands out and take walking breaks during the day. I want to stress here that the doctor said nothing was wrong.

Fast forward two months and in October of 2011 I receive a letter from the insurance company asking me to provide details of any doctors visits I've had in the past two years. The only "doctor" I have seen in the past two years was a CVS clinic when I had a sore throat. I faxed the document back to them.

In December I got a bill from the doctors office claiming that my insurance company has denied my claim as a pre-existing condition. I contacted the doctors office and asked them how this could be so as I was not diagnosed with anything and they referred me to my insurance company. I contacted my insurance company and they are refusing this claim because they said I was out of insurance coverage for more than 68 days.

My question is obvious but here it is just for clarity.