• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

clinic would not put my insurance information in their system

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

otezla

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

Hi, I am a medical student doing my last year of rotations before graduation. About the middle of February of this year I visited the ER of a clinic to have a CT scan done. An ENT doctor suspected cancer of my lymph node the day before, and I did not know where to go for the CT scan except the place I'm doing my rotation at. I remembered giving this clinic my insurance information then (I have student health insurance administered by Aetna).

I first received a bill for over $5000 from the clinic, and I contacted them to give my insurance information because I saw that they did not keep it on file. Couple months ago, i received a letter from collection (I guess it is a company associated with the clinic) for about $1000 of the balance. I called the billing department again to give my insurance info and was told not to worry about the letter for the time being. A couple days ago, I called again, was told they still did not have my insurance information on file, that my account was already at collection, and that I needed to call collection to give them my insurance info. At this point, collection told me the claim was already over 90 days old and would likely not be accepted by my insurance, and that the whole balance will be my sole responsibility.