• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Illegal Billing?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

badadjective

What is the name of your state?
New York State

Dear Forum-Goers,

I've recently run into a series of health problems, and have been seeing multiple doctors and getting tests performed at different laboratories. I am a recent college graduate, dirt poor, and therefore have taken advantage of the Family Health Plus program in New York State which provides me with an HMO medical insurance coverage through Medicaid and United Healthcare.
After going to many doctors for the last 3 months (my insurance began January 1st of this year) I just received letters from United Healthcare denying coverage for almost all my doctor visits, procedures, and tests. The amount is in the thousands, many thousands. I do not have even $100 to pay.
After doing some investigating by calling my insurance company, I was told that none of the doctors or labs I went to (besides my primary care) were participating members of my plan. After calling all of the doctors and labs, surprisingly they all told me "oops, I'm sorry sir. Looks like we don't take your insurance after all, we'll have to bill you!"
Despite the fact that I ALWAYS have my primary care refer me to the doctor or lab and make sure they take my insurance, despite that I ALWAYS ask them to verify that they accept my insurance when I sign in as a new patient, and despite that I ALWAYS give them my insurance card and tell them not to take me as a patient of perform any procedures unless it is covered, I have been lied to by incompetent office staff and now am in thousands of dollars in debt.