• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ins co. trying to deny claim

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

herbgreen

What is the name of your state?
Illinois

Greetings,
I will try to keep this brief as possible and explain it thoroughly. In April I underwent an emergency gall bladder removal procedure. This is my first year with this carrier and it is my understanding that doing a pre existing investigation if there is a major claim in the first year of a policy is pretty standard. Is this correct? Regardless, I didn't mind because I had nothing to fear, or so I thought.

The process has taken months and I have been fending off folks wanting their money. I have been stuck paying out of network fees for the anesthesiologist and some of the radiology. Since it was an emergency admission I really had no chance to choose or review who they used but I did not press the issue. The main sum in question is the hospital bill which is over 40k.