• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Administrative Separation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Meherenow

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Wisconsin

I worked as a RN at a large trauma hospital for 12 years. I caught Neuro Lyme from a tick bite and was paralyzed for months. My prognosis was unknown. It took me a year to learn how to walk using a cane, I have Transverse Myelitis from the Lyme and I cannot perform my old job.

During my rehab my employer told me over the phone that I had to return to work by the end of my Medical LOA. I explained that I was still in a wheel chair and my prognosis was not known by the doctors. My employer told me "don't worry about your job, just worry about getting well." She also told me that if it took a year to get well I could reapply for my old position. Then she sent me a certified letter stating I was given an Administrative Separation. Everything I've read about administrative separation is bad, usually given out by the military for wrong doing. I'm not in the military.

I'm trying to train for a desk job and hoping to get another job somewhere. This sounds to me like I've been fired. I've always had excellent yearly reviews and a good employment record. I've never been fired from a job. What is an Administrative Separation anyway?

Last edited:

Proserpina

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Wisconsin

I worked as a RN at a large trauma hospital for 12 years. I caught Neuro Lyme from a tick bite and was paralyzed for months. My prognosis was unknown. It took me a year to learn how to walk using a cane, I have Transverse Myelitis from the Lyme and I cannot perform my old job.