• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Am I lliable for noncompete?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nailheader

Here's my history, I am an engineer in Arizona with an aerospace contractor. I have worked for the company for 2years. When I was hired I was made to sign a non compete agreement. The clause states that I cannot work for any of the firms customers for 6 months after I leave the company.

I have accepted a possition with another very large aerospace company in the same state. This company has several different business groups and they are seperate, and have a seperate site, but share the same overall name with a group that does have a contract with my company.

I did not get the new job through any contacts with my company, but with ones that I had before I was hired. The work is unrelated aspects of engineering, so there is no trade secret issues.

My company is not happy with my decision to leave, and there is "inuendo" a possible law suit, while still requiring me to finish out my 2 weeks of notice.

I have made my future employer aware of all aspects of this and they assure me that the groups are seperate business with the same name, and that they do not have a contract with my company. Although they may have had one in past years, it cannot be confirmed at this time.

Thanks in advance.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
There is no possible way we can advise you on the enforceability of an agreement we have not read. You will have to show it to a local attorney.

HomeGuru

nailheader said: