• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

any recourse?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mblack

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NJ

I worked as a highly educated and respectful position in high tech industry drawing six figures annually. I was laid off in a bad way due to political reasons. Company is less than 25 people, privately owned, venture funded, and may close to shortage of funding.

I was the only unmarried person there. Other people about my age are married, engaged or about to be engaged. ceo also inquired a few times whether someone is married or is how soon getting married.
Is there anything that can be done?

Thanks in advance.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

ecmst12

Marital status is not a protected class.

You can file for unemployment and start looking for a new job.

ecmst12

You were also NOT the only unmarried person, if there were engaged and soon-to-be engaged people there. If you were the only person not in a committed relationship, that is DEFINITELY not a protected class.

ecmst12

Anyone who gets married because their boss wants them to is an idiot. Are there a lot of divorced or soon-to-be divorced people too?

Is this the only "political reason" you feel you were chosen for the layoff? Or were you ticking people off in other ways too?

I don't think you have a case, but you are free to speak with the NJ DOL.

mblack

The tone of your post looks sarcastic. I was instead hoping to get legal facts from this forum.

thanks for your input.

ecmst12