• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

background check

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wlaserinko

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

a company i have been working for on and off for four years has told me that i failed a background check. I was not getting consistent work so had to apply for unemployment. That is when they asked me to come in and fill out a new application. Upon completing this new application for a job already have they tell me my background check came back with issues. I had them send me a copy of the background check and no criminal record was found. What i did see was a summons from over ten years ago for a parking violation. It is quite obvious that the company is just playing a sick game. I need to know what my rights are and how to combat this particular issue. If anyone can help with advice i would greatly appreciate it. Companies should never be allowed to bully employees and i am sure there is some way i can fight this.

wlaserinko

even if it was over ten years ago? and i had already been hired by this company since 2010. When i applied for unemployment is when they pulled this stunt. I have read that companies can only go back 7 years as well. It seems rather strange that a minor traffic infraction from over ten years ago will keep me from being hired by the same company that i already work for.

LdiJ