• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Being mistreated at work for hurting employers pride?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

PeggySmith13

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL

Recently I spoke out to my boss because he is taking advantage of me at work. I was hired as an admin. assistant with light graphic work (cutting out photos of chairs and putting a watermark on them). Because I am a professional photographer and graphic designer, he has taken advantage of that. At first, I said I would take some photos but quickly had me taking photos everyday. I confronted him and told him that if he wanted me to continue, then he would have to pay me because I get paid to take photos and there is wear and tear on my camera. He then told me that I would no longer be taking photos.

Since then, he has increase the quantity and quality of my graphics work for the company. I no longer just put watermarks on photos but am required to change the color of things, add things like doors or shelves that don't exist on the current photo, create email campaigns, banners, etc... I even redid the catalog for this year instead of them paying a graphic designer to do it! This saved them thousands of dollars and all I got was $100 bonus. I also don't have the programs to do this kind of work and they will not buy them for me so I have had to ask other friends that are graphic designers to help me.