• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can a employer force you to work for them for certain time or make u stay home jobles

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Prasu

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Jersey

I am a consultant working through a consulting company. According to the contract, I will have to work for them for at least 1 year, or I will have to pay $10,000 as a compensation. Also, I am not allowed to quit the job for this (1 year) period. However the company can terminate the contract or fire me anytime for any /without any reason; and they are not obliged to to pay me anything.

The contract also states that during this (1 year) period I can't work with any other company other than them. And even after 1 year (2nd year), I am not allowed to work for any other company that were involved directly or indirectly during this first contract. It simply mean, work with them or stay home.

Now my question is, is it legally possible for the company to abide someone in such contract? Also, based on this type of contract, can a consulting company take any legal action against me?

Thank you !!

Last edited:

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
The employer, not the employee, decides what hours you work. So Yes. They can.

If you want a more detailed answer than that, you need to provide a more detailed question.

eerelations

If you signed the contract, you are legally obliged to abide by it. If you breach the contract, the company has a legal right to sue you for breach of contract.

You should not have signed the contract if you weren't planning to abide by it.

Prasu