• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I get unemployment?(NY)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Scooby

What is the name of your state? New York

Hi all. My first post here. I may be losing my job soon, and wanted to know if the circumstances under which it may happen, would qualify me to collect unemployment,
if it should come to that, and of course, assuming my employer fights me on this.

Background:
I have been driving a handicapped van for over 2 1/2 years for a nursing home`s adult day-care center(vans and operation a seperate corporation owned by nursing home, management contracted out to 3rd party since Day One. 3rd party had a 5 year contract to manage operation, but was recently bought-out. Lets called my employer of some 2 1/2 years, "ABC Transport".
At the time I was hired, there was no requirement for a CDL and more to the point, a DOT medical. Other than being hospitalized for 3 days 1 1/2 years ago for pneumonia, I have never been out, never taken a vacation, never called in sick, never took a personal day off, never had any accidents, tickets or complaints, and have a 99.9% on-time performance. (I say this to make it clear there never any job-performance issues.)

The operation("ABC Transport") was somewhat profitable for it`s (nursing home) owner,
but over time, as increasing fuel prices and other day to day expenses, along with decreasing ridership(reduced revenues) started to make ABC Transport more a generator
of red ink, rather than black, the owners of the hursing home recently sold the vehicles to