• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I quit before the terms of my contract expire?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

athens

What is the name of your state? Massachusetts
I am currently employed and the company is going through restructuring. I have been working for this company for 4 years, 1st as a consultant, then became an FTE on 01/02/07. I was given a sign-on bonus when I became an FTE. My contract states that i have to be employed for 12 months after receiving said bonus, if i leave before this time i have to reimburse my employer the Gross amount.