• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can they force me to move?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dizzym92

I'm in Michigan. I have been working for a large franchise restaurant for 2 years, most recently as a General Manager. My restauarant was closed and the owners are telling me that I and my family have to either move to an undisclosed restaurant at least 50 miles away (by January 4th) or quit - that they are not going to terminate me. My new position will be a lower rank although they will pay me a little more (because its a significantly more expense part of the state). Can they do this?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Yes, they can.

While they cannot force you to move , they can transfer you and fire you if you refuse the transfer, which essentially comes to the same thing.

VeronicaLodge

it sounds like they dont want to fire him/her and pay unemployement, they want him/her to move or quit. if that is the case, i would say choose neither and make them fire you.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
I think that's what I just said.

The poster cannot be required to move. They CAN be required to move in order to keep their job. The employer may legally fire them if they refuse the transfer.

ecmst12

Usually, refusing work that's offered will result in a denial of unemployment. But if the offered employment would require relocation, you may still be successful in your UC claim if you refuse the transfer.

pattytx

50 miles is more than I'd personally want to go, but just for curiosity's sake, how much further would it be from your home to the new place than it is from your home to the current place?

Gadfly