+ Reply to Thread
    Brandon219 is offline Junior Member

Exclamation Can you be fired if you miss time and have a doctor's note?

What is the name of your state? Mississippi

First alittle background. I am currently working in a state/county job in Mississippi. My department is the Sanitation Department and I am basically a garbage man. I work 4 days a week Monday - Thursday from 7:00am-5:30 pm (10 hour shifts). I have an immediate supervisor who overseas the Sanitation Dept. There are about 18 total employees in my department, but with more than 100 county employees in the whole county in many other departments. In Mississippi, we have 5 appointed supervisors that run the county I am in. They make our rules and sign our checks. I have been working for the county for 5 years now. I also have a documented medical condition that sometimes keeps me at home once or twice a month, but I have always had a doctor's note. Well anyways, today there was a department meeting that the supervisors have come up with a new "rule". If an employee misses any time (or days) and they don't have any sick leave or vacation leave saved up, they will get a warning put in their file if they miss the day or time. You are aloud to have 2 warnings and on the 3rd warning you are fired REGUARDLESS if you have a doctor's note. Today I recieved my first warning because I missed last Monday to go the doctor. I had a note, but my boss said it didn't matter because I had not time saved up and I ended up only working 30 hours last week since I had no time saved up to complete a 40 hour work week. I'm supposed to have hurnia surgery on friday (the only day I have off) and I would have to miss MOnday and Tuesday to heal, but now I am being told that if I miss those 2 days its ANOTHER warning (unless I have enough time saved up to miss which I don't). And as I said on the 3rd warning I am fired.