• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

cant get former company's separation policy

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

elbarrio

What is the name of your state? New York
I work as a security officer for a retail mall in New York City . Recently , my company which ran the mall , was bought out by another retail establishment .This new company in turn turned all the security officers over to a third party vendor and we were told that we would retain our senority in the vendors company but that we have no ties with the company that took over but to the third party vendor. Security is the only department that this change affects , there are secretaries and marketing personnel and building engineers that all will continue to be employed by the take over company. We securty officers have consequently been swamped with paper work and documents to complete and it has become increasing bothersome to many . Which brings me to my main point, we were given a General Release And Waiver of All Claims form in which we are basically releasing any claims which existed under the former company known, unknown suspected and unsuspected under local , state , and federal law or pertaining to unlawful discrimination in all its forms. There is a 4 page document for us to decipher on our own or im assuming we should all find an attorney to assist us but no one here can give us any information. I have tried to reach a live person from the human resources department but all I get is an automated machine. Several times in the document it mentions a Separation Policy from the former employer , but no one has been able to acquire a copy of this policy , no one seems to be able to tell us what this polic