• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

CDL driver ~ vehicle safety issues

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NCLynn2

State: Live in NC, work in SC

I'm a licensed CDL B driver with air brake and P [passenger] endosements. I took a job with a local large contractor to drive a passenger bus to get workers to the jobsite [no parking on site] from a parking lot a few miles away for a 3-4 year job. The job was 6 days a week, shared with another driver the other 3 days [I worked 3, she worked 3 set days] .

When hired [and the same deal with the other driver of 2 years] I was told it's X amount of $ per hour with a guaranteed 40 hours even though it would be a max of only 32 actual hours worked. ANY holidays, rain days or other days off [bus service not needed some Sat's] given by my employer doesn't matter, ALWAYS 40 hours [salary I guess you'd call it]. In the 3 months that I worked there there have been multiple rain days, 1 holiday [Memorial day] and 2 Sat's not worked due to no bus service needed/job shutdown and I've always gotten 40 hours. It was a very easy job, just take employees to the job in the a.m., misc mid day runs and bring them back out again in the eve [6:30-6:30 daily, Sat 6:30-3:30] and all we were required to do during the other time was to sit in the bus and await any Nextel calls for transport needs.